K's Niche
 
Picture
There is learning in our everyday living. If you do not see this, then you need to open your eyes more. I believe that we learn every day and for that we are so fortunate especially if you recognize a learning when it happens to you. Whatever simple task we are engaged in, I feel we always learn something. Whether it is old learning (something you have already known before) or a new one – the point is you recognize that you are learning something! If you were to ask me how to define learning I would take say “Learning is like Cooking.” Do not worry, I am not going to start giving you recipes here... but think about it. When our Moms or Dads or Grandparents taught us to cook, you got first-hand experience and recipes, did you not? Recipes that has been handed down for generations. Some I guess you would call classic. Over the years, your grandmother made a certain dish this way because that is how her mother or grandmother taught her. She used the same ingredients and followed the same cooking methods. Right? Then your mom probably changed it a bit, like perhaps added an alternative ingredient or added some new ones that were not there before and even helped the dish taste even better than before. Now that you are cooking the same dish, you probably got a little inspiration and used different ingredients or added a little twist to the dish and came up with an extraordinary dish from the same simple and basic dish your grandmother or mother did before. Were you able to get my point? You started with a basics – things you have learned before and got used to doing the same stuff for years and yet one day, you find yourself, adding more to the basic and creating a better version of the basic and what is great about it is that you learned to improvise! To create! I love cooking and when I do look for recipes of dishes I grew up eating, I would get different versions of it, from the very old-fashioned, basic recipe to a more elaborate, more newer recipe and yet still come up with a dish I know so well, growing up. To me, learning is like cooking because you either stick to what you know – all these years – or you look to improve on what you already know. You have a choice. Again, do not get me wrong. I am not saying that sticking to the old things you know are bad. Learning old things is good. I think I call re-learning old stuff. I, myself, like to go back and do that at times. What I am saying is, you learn even a lot more if you improve on what you already know and the way to do that is to learn something new about things you already know or even something you have not heard of before. When you do this, you will be proud of yourself and the end result is a better and improved YOU. Think about it.





Leave a Reply.